Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Award-Winning Children's Literature: Other Awards

Other Awards for Children's Literature

image of the Wilder Medal image of the Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature image of the Theoder Seuss Geisel Award   image of the Belpre Award

The awards below are some of the most important honors, both American and international, awarded to exceptional children's literature. You may also be interested in the online listings of international awards (provided by Reading, national awards, and state and regional awards provided by YA author Cynthia Leitich Smith or in this full listing of all ALA book, print, and media awards.

Children's Book Awards

Batchelder Award

The Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.

Ezra Jack Keats Book Award

The EJK Book Award is given annually to an outstanding new writer and new illustrator of picture books for children by the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation.

Geisel Award

The Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.

Michael L. Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.

Odyssey Award

This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

Orbis Pictus Award

The Orbis Pictus Award was established by the NCTE (National Council of Teachers of English) in 1989 for promoting and recognizing excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children.

Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

The Scott O'Dell Award is given annually to the author of a meritorious work of historical fiction published in the previous year for children or young adults.

Sibert Informational Book Medal

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book, written for children, that was published in the United States in English during the preceding year.

West Virginia Children's Choice Book Awards

Awarded to an outstanding American children's book that will appeal to children in third through sixth grades.

 Children's Literature Legacy Award (formerly the  Laura Ingalls Wilder or Wilder Award)

The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Different Experiences, Cultures, and Countries

Multicultural Awards


 American Indian Youth Literature Award

Presented every two years, this award honors the best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians for a juvenile audience.

 Asian/Pacific American Awards for Literature

Presented annually by the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA), these awards include a children's literature category.

 Middle East Book Awards

Established in 1999, the Middle East Book Award recognizes quality books for children and young adults that contribute meaningfully to an understanding of the Middle East and its component societies and cultures.

Pura Belpré Award

The Pura Belpré Award is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Sydney Taylor Book Award

Presented by the Association of Jewish Libraries since 1968, the Sydney Taylor Book Award is given annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience.

Awards for Books about People with Special Needs


Dolly Gray Children's Literature Award

The Dolly Gray Children’s Literature Award was initiated in 2000 to recognize authors, illustrators, and publishers of high quality fictional and biographical children, intermediate, and young adult books that appropriately portray individuals with developmental disabilities.

Schneider Family Book Award
The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Awards from Other Countries


Carnegie Medal

One of the United Kingdom's oldest and most prestigious awards for children's literature, the Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children.

Kate Greenaway Medal

The Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded annually in the United Kingdom for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.