Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Award-Winning Children's Literature: Caldecott Medal

What is the Caldecott Medal?

Caldecott Medal image The Caldecott Medal is one of the two most prestigious awards for children's literature in the United States. Every year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association, gives out the award every year to the artist of the year's best picture book. To see all of the books that have won the Caldecott Medal, check this listing on the ALSC's website.

The Scarborough Library owns copies of most Caldecott Medal winners. Since picture books can be either youth fiction or youth nonfiction, Caldecott winners can be found in both categories.

Award Winners 2019-1998

2019: Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall

2018: Wolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell

2017: Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat by Javaka Steptoe

2016: Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear by Lindsey Mattick, illustrated by Sophie Blackall

2015: The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend by Dan Santai

2014: Locomotive by Brian Floca

2013: This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

2012: A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka

2011: A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Phillip C. Stead, illustrated by Erin E. Stead

2010: The Lion & the Mouse by David Pinkney

2009: The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson, illustrated by Beth Krommes

2008: The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

2007: Flotsam by David Wiesner

2006: The Hello, Goodbye Window by Norton Juster, illustrated by Chris Raschka

2005: Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes

2004: The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein

2003: My Friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann

2002: The Three Pigs by David Wiesner

2001: So You Want to Be President? by Judith St. George, illustrated by David Small

2000: Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback

1999: Snowflake Bentley by Jacqueline Briggs Martin, illustrated by Mary Azarian

1998: Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky

Award Winners 1997-1978

1997: Golem by David Wisniewski

1996: Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathmann

1995: Smoky Night by Eve Bunting, illustrated David Diaz

1994: Grandfather's Journey by Walter Lorraine, illustrated by Allen Say

1993: Mirette on the High Wire by Emily Arnold McCully

1992: Tuesday by David Wiesner

1991: Black and White by David Macaulay

1990: Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China by Ed Young

1989: Song and Dance Man by Karen Ackerman, illustrated by Stephen Gammell

1988: Owl Moon by Jane Yolen, illustrated by John Schoenherr

1987: Hey, Al by Arthur Yorinks, illustrated by Richard Egielski

1986: The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg

1985: Saint George and the Dragon by Margaret Hodges, illustrated by Trina Schart Hyman

1984: The Glorious Flight: Across the Channel with Louis Blériot by Alice & Martin Provensen

1983: Shadow, translated and illustrated by Marcia Brown from the French of Blaise Cendrars

1982: Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg

1981: Fables by Arnold Lobel

1980: Ox-Cart Man by Donald Hall, illustrated by Barbara Cooney

1979: The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses by Paul Goble

1978: Noah's Ark by Peter Spier


1977: Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions by Margaret Musgrove, illustrated by Leo & Diane Dillon

1976: Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears by Verna Aardema, illustrated by Leo& Diane Dillon

1975: Arrow to the Sun by Gerald McDermott

1974: Duffy and the Devil by Harve Zemach, illustrated by Margot Zemach

1973: The Funny Little Woman by Arlene Mosel, illustrated by Blair Lent

1972: One Fine Day by Nonny Hogrogian

1971: A Story A Story by Gail E. Hailey

1970: Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by William Steig

1969: The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship by Arthur Ransome, illustrated by Uri Shulevitz

1968: Drummer Hoff by Barbara Emberley, illustrated by Ed Emberley

1967: Sam, Bangs and Moonshine by Evaline Ness

1966: Always Room for One More by Sorche Nic Leodhas, illustrated by Nonny Hogrogian

1965: May I Bring a Friend? by Beatrice Schenk de Regniers

1964: Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

1963: The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats

1962: Once a Mouse by Marcia Brown

1961: Baboushka and the Three Kings by Ruth Robbins, illustrated by Niccolas Sidjakov

1960: Nine Days to Christmas by Marie Hall Ets and Aurora Labastida

1959: Chanticleer and the Fox by Geoffrey Chaucer, adapted and illustrated by Barbara Cooney

1958: Time of Wonder by Robert McCloskey


Award Winners 1957-1938

1957: A Tree Is Nice by Janice Udry, illustrated by Marc Simont

1956: Frog Went A-Courtin' by John Langstaff, illustrated by Feodor Rojankovsky

1955: Cinderella, or The Little Glass Slipper translated from the French of Charles Perrault by Marcia Brown, illustrated by Marcia Brown

1954: Madeline's Rescue by Ludwig Bemelmans

1953: The Biggest Bear by Lynd Ward

1952: Finders Keepers by Will [psued.], illustrated by Nicolas [psued.]

1951: The Egg Tree by Katherine Milhous

1950: Song of the Swallows by Leo Politi

1949: The Big Snow by Berta & Elmer Hader

1948: White Snow, Bright Snow by Alvin Tressalt, illustrated by Roger DuVoisin

1947: The Little Island by Golden MacDonald [psued.], illustrated by Leonard Weisgard

1946: The Rooster Crows by Maud & Miska Petersham

1945: Prayer for a Child by Rachel Field, illustrated by Elizabeth Orton Jones

1944: Many Moons by James Thurber, illustrated by Louis Slobodkin

1943: The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton

1942: Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey

1941: They Were Strong and Good by Robert Lawson

1940: Abraham Lincoln by Ingri & Edgar Parin d'Aulaire

1939: Mei Li by Thomas Handforth

1938: Animals of the Bible, A Picture Book by Helen Dean Fish, illustrated by Dorothy P. Lanthrop