Psychology: Websites

• Athabasca University Psychology Resources

  From a Canadian university, this site contains links to a large number of psychology websites organized by the different sub-fields within psychology. Other useful sites are also listed.
• Encyclopedia of Psychology

  Large collection of links to psychology-related websites. Browse by category or search by keyword.
• Social Psychology Network

  One of the largest Internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching, with more than 20,000 links related to psychology.
• About.com - Psychology Popular and well organized site, with information about the field, psychological theories, and experiments.
• PsychScholar "A collection of Web resources for psychological scholars and budding psychological scholars".
• MentalHelp.net

• Guide to the Fields in PsycINFO/PsycARTICLES

  Lists all the fields, plus an explanation of what each field does, found in database records from the American Psychological Association.
• VassarStats: Website for Statistical Computation Has explanations and online tools demonstrating a variety of statistical tests and procedures. Includes tools for calculating probabilities, frequencies, chi-square tests, correlations and regressions, t-tests, ANOVA, and more. Note: Because of the JavaScript used, the author recommends using Firefox, Safari, or Chrome web browsers for this site, rather than Internet Explorer.
• Classics in the History of Psychology This is an effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. There are now over 25 books and about 200 articles and chapters on-line. The site also contains links to over 200 relevant works posted at other sites.
• History of Psychology Archives Links to historical reviews of important figures in the history of psychology, and relevant links to off-campus biographical sites.
• The Personality Project These pages are meant to guide those interested in personality theory and research to the current personality research literature. Information about scholarly societies and graduate training programs in personality is also provided. Course syllabi from personality theory and research courses are being added gradually.
• Online Readings in Psychology and Culture Designed to serve as a resource for researchers, teachers, students, and anyone who is interested in the interrelationships between Psychology and Culture, the site inlcudes essays, reflections, and data-oriented segments that reflect current trends and discussions in cross-cultural psychology and related fields. A central goal of ORPC is to complement other resources (textbooks, handbooks, journals) and to provide an open and updated forum.
• Psychology Theories

Much of the information from this LibGuide was borrowed from Marshall University Libraries. Thanks!

• Personality Theories and Theorists

  This is an electronic textbook ("e-text") created by Dr. C. George Boeree (Professor Emeritus, Psychology Department of Shippensburg University) for the students in his classes. Includes biographies and summaries of the theory for everyone from Alfred Adler to Carl Rogers to Donald Snygg.
• Classics in the History of Psychology - Topic Index

  Makes the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology. This index arranges them by time period and field (e.g. Gestalt Theory, Developmental Theory).
• B.F. Skinner Foundation The Foundation promotes the science founded by B. F. Skinner and supports the practices derived from that science. On this website, the Foundation features exceptional examples of the science in practice.
• "Psychology as the Behaviorist Views it" by John B. Watson. Text of the 1913 "Psychological Review" article by the man who who established the psychological school of behaviorism after doing research on animal behavior.
• "Existential Theory of Carl Rogers" An archived chapter from a previous edition of A First Look at Communication Theory by Em Griffin, published by McGraw-Hill.
• "Evolutionary Psychology - a primer" Page by Leda Cosmides & John Tooby, of the University of California-Santa Barbara Center for Evolutionary Psychology.
• Interbehavioral Psychology - Jacob Robert Kantor "From the interbehavioral perspective, self-actional causes, whether fictional events (e.g., mentalism) or fictional powers attributed to otherwise actual events (brain as cause of behavior), are anathema to science of psychology."
• C. G. Jung Page This is "dedicated to exploring questions of meaning which engage the individual as well as the varied cultures in which we live."
• Jean Piaget Society