Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Shepherd University's Archives and Special Collections: From the Archive Reading Room--Fall2022

Photo--Left Side of Display

ArchiveReadingRoomDisplay_WhiteHallandWhiteGymnasium_LeftSide

Photo-Center of Display

Archive_Reading_Room_WhitHallandWhiteGymnasium_CenterofDisplay

 

Photo--Right Side of Display

Archive_Reading_Room_WhiteHallandWhiteGymnasium_RightSide

 

Display in the Archive Reading Room

Archive_Reading_Room_WhiteHallandGymnasium_Complete

 

President W.H.S. White has the distinction of having two buildings named for him--and both of them were constructed on the same plot of land. These buildings are, in order, White Gymnasium (conceived in 1922, completed in 1924, opened for use in 1925) and White Hall. The gymnasium was first renovated  in 1954 to house classrooms  for business administration, social science and journalism. The current version of White Hall was dedicated in 1974 specifically for the Business Administration and Social Sciences departments.

From the Archive--

Pictures of Individuals and Groups Related to Shepherd College: this five part collection  has photographs of campus from its earliest days until 1965; the bulk of these photographs are labeled and numbered. Several show class lectures, some laboratories. There are even a few pictures of a sock hop held in Snyder Hall because that was where the Rams Den was located before migrating to the Student Center.

Buildings and Grounds Collection: This three box collection contains folders related to buildings on campus or held by the university; items for the current display were pulled from the Snyder Hall folder. Currently, the collection is not yet cataloged; it is, however, available for research.

A History of Shepherd College by A. G. Slonaker--the archive has several copies of this work done by Dean Slonaker; the book covers the history of the institution up to 1968. It is divided into sections under the chief administrators and presidents--and is very thorough.

 

 

 

Persons Related to the Display

President W. H.S. (Wilson  Henry Stout) White served Shepherd College from 1920-1947.

 

Ms. Etta O. Williams was a dedicated woman. Hired in 1915 to instruct students in what were then called "Commercial Subjects," she not only taught the entire set of courses for that subject area but also served in the position of the President's secretary (administrative assistant) through most of her tenure at Shepherd.

Photos Credit

All photographs on this page were taken by Ms. Denise Kretzmer.