The library has created a COVID-19 libguide that details current information on which library services are available for the campus community, resources for research, and how to get assistance from the library staff at this time.
All physical items held at Shepherd University's library (books, maps, CDs, DVDs, microfilm and print journals) can be obtained at the library.
Materials may also be obtained using Fetch! services.
The library is no longer using SAKAI for accessing electronic databases from off-campus. When accessing databases from off-campus, please use your full Shepherd e-mail account and its password.
Useful tip: If further assistance is required, please see the Off-Campus Access libguide for information.
On the library website, your best friend (ie beginning research tool) is the Books, e-books Articles & More page. Below is a partial screen capture of some of the available resources (keep scrolling on the actual page to see all of them).
This page has an embedded search bar for WorldCat Discovery (searches our library catalog), electronic resources (databases like EBSCO, JSTOR and the e-resources guide), a journal title search, and research guides for subjects important to students and fields of study.
Another excellent "friend" for research is the electronic resource guide which lists both individual databases (ex. Education Resource Complete, Business Source Elite) and subject-related websites. The list can be searched either by subject area or alphabetically by e-resource name.
There are librarians available that specialize in assisting particular departments or fields of study; these are library liaisons.
Nursing, HPERS, and Education
Sciences, Computer Science and Mathematics
Arts and Humanities/
Business and Social Sciences
The library's resources and the information they contain (and how to use them) can be overwhelming even for the experienced researcher.
Libguides provide information on specific topics of interest, such as How to Search EBSCOHost Databases, the most-popular database service for research.
Other libguides available (with some information overlap) include
E-books and how to access them
Copyright and its issues
Citations (what they are, the necessity of them, and how to format research papers)
Plagiarism (overlaps with citations)
How to Search EBSCOHost: This guide provides tips on how to navigate, search and retrieve articles from all EBSCOHost databases, the most popular set of databases for Shepherd University students
How to Search JSTOR: how to navigate, search, and retrieve articles from JSTOR, another popular database
Interlibrary loan How to borrow materials from other libraries