Subjects: Foundation Collection
Tags: 501(C)3, Foundation, Grants

ATTENTION

Scarborough Library will No longer be a member of the Foundation Information Network as of January 1st, 2019.

About the Information Network

Established in 1956, Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. Through data, analysis, and training, it connects people who want to change the world to the resources they need to succeed. Foundation Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grant makers and their grants — a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector. It also operates research, education, and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthropy at every level. Thousands of people visit Foundation Center's website each day and are served in its five library/learning centers and at more than 450 Funding Information Network locations nationwide and around the world.  Visit our Washington, D.C. office

Foundation Directory Online (FDO) objective is to deliver quality funding prospects. By combining exhaustive data with intuitive search functionality and informative data visualizations, FDO delivers the information you need to reach your fundraising goals quickly and efficiently.

Foundation Center Resources

Where to begin? The Foundation Directory Online databases listed below are accessible only in the Scarborough Library:

  • Foundation Directory Online Professional - provides subscribers with access to an unprecedented wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire universe of over 140,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 4,000 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of over 3.8 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.

  • Foundation Grants to Individuals Online - We know of roughly 10,000 grantmakers -- less than 1/10 of the entire database -- that give to individuals, mainly to help with paying for education, or artistic or research projects.

For help, consult the following:

  • How to use the new FDO webinar (runtime 50:41)   FDO s a valuable resource for nonprofits’ fundraising needs. With interactive maps and charts, RFPs, and key funder and grants insights, FDO helps nonprofits identify funding sources, build their prospect networks, and win the funding to support their missions.
  • Before you seek a grant webinar (runtime 45:54)  This recorded webinar covers what nonprofit startups should have in place before they apply for foundation grants.
  • Print resources such as Guide to Proposal Writing and The National Directory of Corporate Giving are located next to library room 243 on the bottom shelf These items contain further information on Foundations partners in the Foundation Information Network.
  • PDF handouts can be saved to a thumb/flash drive or printed:

More Information from the Foundation Center

The Foundation Information Network is strengthening the social sector by advancing knowledge about philanthropy. Shepherd University is a Funding Information Network Partner of the Foundation Center of New York. The library's Foundation Collection is one of over 340 collections affiliated with the Foundation Center in New York .