 |
Shepherd University's Common Reading initiative is a way to involve campus and community in the reading and discussion of a single work. Events run throughout the year and here is the current events schedule for this year. This year's Common Reading selection is No Visible Bruises: What We Don't Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us by Rachel Louise Snyder; its call number is HV6626.2 .S59 2019 Copies of this work are temporarily shelved at Reserve Shelf behind Public Services Desk; please ask if a copy is available. The author's personal website provides information: a short biographical sketch, a section on her books, resources and links for individuals defining, escaping from, or recovering from all forms of domestic violence. |
Shepherd University's The Picket, during the 1970s-1990's, ran special issues or sections bringing up formerly taboo subjects (addiction, sexual assault, and family abuse).
See more at the Shepherd Archives
"The power of language: How words shape people, culture" by Alex Shaskevitch: This article published in Stanford News on August 22, 2019 gives an overview of language and how its use both expresses and alters perception.
"Can Domestic Abusers be Cured?": This question is the central one in Erin Stone's article in the May/June 2019 Mother Jones magazine.
We Live in a Culture of Violence: article on Psychology Today, posted on January 31, 2018
Journals
Begin research on related topics for this year's Common Reading using "domestic violence," "intimate partner violence," and "abuse" as keywords in the Full Text Journal Listing's title search.
Databases
Points of View Reference Center
Academic Search Complete (for general articles on diverse topics)
JSTOR (for history)
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (for criminal justice, crime, and perceptions of crime)
SocIndex with Full Text (social interactions personal and group, social work)
PsycINFO (for articles concerning human personality and behavior)
Other resources and databases can be found in the Electronic Resources research guide; the resources list also has a subject guide for easier research.