Subjects: Chemistry
Tags: chemistry

Free Online Resources

The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool 

The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this complimentary tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.
 

ChemView

Use this database to get information on chemical health and safety data received by EPA and EPA's assessments and regulatory actions for specific chemicals under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). ChemView contains no confidential business information (CBI).

Physical Properties Sources Index

The Physical Properties Sources Index (PPSI) is a tool for finding resources for physico-chemical and other material properties. It is a starting point for queries such as

  • Where does one find a listing of rate constants?
  • Where does precise information on chemical structure (bond lengths, bond angles, torsion angles) of molecules in the gas phase exist?
  • Where do I find the definition of the quadrupole moment?
  • Where are techniques for measurement of viscosity described?

This index does not display the measured values of a physical property of a given compound, for example, values of the dipole moment of water. But it lists the sources that contain the dipole-moment values.

The data sources have been put together and ranked by the Information Center. These sources may be both print and electronic documents and databases that are available in the Information Center, but also in other libraries and even from web directories.

ChemSpider Sythetic Page

ChemSpider SyntheticPages is a free database of practical procedures for research workers in synthetic chemistry, written by chemists for chemists.

Organic Syntheses

Provides detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.

Sigma-Aldrich Catalogue

Includes spectra for many compounds, and references to spectra for most compounds.

NMRshiftDB2

NMRshiftDB2 is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra.

Scirus search engine

Created and run by Elsevier, this search engine specifically targets the sciences and scientific inquiry. As well as journal content, the search engine also provides access to scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information. Searching is free; however acquiring results may or may not be. Scirus.com does not intend to or market itself as a database; this is an internet-only resource.

IPL2 - Chemistry

In January 2010, the website "ipl2: information you can trust" was launched, merging the collections of resources from the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII) websites. The site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities with programs in information science are involved in developing and maintaining the ipl2.