Collection Development Policy
Subjects: General Guides

Acquisition Procedures

1. Children's materials: A representative collection of children's books will be maintained to provide students of literature and education with the best examples of books published for children. The well-known classics in literature and the American Library Association award-winning books of each year will make up the core of the collection.

2. B&T Collection (DVD and Book Lease Collection): In addition to purchasing materials directly related to the curriculum, the library selectively leases materials that broaden the cultural perspectives of users, provide recreational reading and viewing, and enhance individual experience. The B&T Collection is a separate, rotating collection of recent high-interest or popular titles. These popular, recreational, or leisure-oriented materials are selected from standard "Best-Seller" lists. 

3. E-Books (Electronic Books)Scarborough Library is adding ebooks from a variety of academic publishers into its collection.   Library ebooks may be read on any computer or downloaded to a reading device from on and off campus. The ebooks collection includes content from leading publishers of reference, scholarly and professional books such as McGraw-Hill, Oxford University Press, AMACOM, Taylor & Francis and university presses and some free books from Ebscohost. Access may require your Shepherd University ID.

4. National Film Registry (NFR) Collection: A list of films deemed “culturally, historically or aesthetically” significant, and are earmarked for preservation by the Library of Congress. These films are not selected as the ‘best’ American films of all time, but rather as works of enduring importance to American culture. They reflect who we are as a people and as a nation.NFR Films

5.Multiple copies: Multiple copies of heavily used materials may be acquired when needed. When the Library acquires a new edition of a previously held title, the older editions should be evaluated on an individual basis and retained, reclassified from reference to circulating, or withdrawn.

6. Replacement copies: Materials in various formats that are missing, lost, damaged, or withdrawn are not automatically replaced. Potential replacements are evaluated using the same criteria for selection as regularly purchased items. Depending on the availability of funds, heavily used materials, determined to be necessary for teaching and research, will be replaced as quickly as possible, if the materials are available. Items that have been checked out and are not returned will be evaluated for replacement regularly.

7. Reference: The Reference collection is designed to meet the need for basic factual information, introductory or overview information for specific subjects, and/or access to further information and resources. The Reference collection contains, but is not limited to, encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, directories, indexes, statistical compilations, and handbooks. The Scarborough Librarians determine which materials should be designated "Reference".  Items in the Reference collection do not circulate. Librarians review the Reference collection annually to maintain currency and accuracy.

8. Languages: Primarily English language materials will be selected. Materials written in languages other than English are acquired when they support the world language programs of the college and general interest in language and literature. 

9. Government publications: Scarborough Library is one of nearly 1,250 libraries nationwide that are Federal Government Depositories.  Since 1813 depository libraries have provided free public access to Federal Government information.  The library has been a federal depository since 1971.  As a selective depository, we receive about 20% of the documents in the program.  Collection Development Policy for Gov Docs

10. Gifts: Gifts of library materials are accepted with the understanding that there are no conditions attached to their disposition. Only those materials published in the last 10 years, in good physical condition, and which conform to the Library's collection criteria will be added. Periodicals are not accepted. No estimation of value will be provided for any gift, but a letter of acknowledgement will be provided upon request. Unneeded items will be disposed of by sale, exchange, donation, or discard.

11. Standing orders: Standing orders may be placed for annual publications (almanacs, yearbooks, series) needed in the collection and on occasions when every book in a series is needed.

12. Textbooks: Textbooks are not routinely purchased for the Library collection, but titles which have earned a reputation as "classics", or which are exceptional, or are the only available sources on a topic may be added. Gifts of recent texts are accepted and added to the collection if they meet Collection Development Policy criteria. 

13. Archives and Special Collections: This section is currently being developed.

14. High cost items: The Library will consider the holdings of neighboring institutions when a request is made for high cost/low-anticipated use materials.