Collection Development Policy
Subjects: General Guides

Responsibility for Collection Development

General responsibility for the overall quality and balance of the library collection rests with the Coordinator of Collection Development under the supervision of the Dean of the Library and the collaboration of the Library faculty librarians. Scarborough librarians are responsible for taking an active role in initiating purchases, anticipating the need for specific items and acquiring them. 

The Library welcomes recommendations for library materials and solicits faculty help in building the collection. All full-time and adjunct faculty are encouraged to submit online book and resource requests for their disciplines.

Based on first-hand knowledge of students’ requests, librarians also select resources for assignments and cross-curricular needs such as reference resources and general research topics.To help insure both the quality and scope of the collection, librarians consider reviews in general and specialized review media, standard bibliographies, user  requests, course syllabi, and reserve book lists. 

Request an item for the Library

Selection Tools

Reputable, objective, and professionally prepared selection aids are consulted as guides for the development of core collections in subject areas and for the review and purchase of new resources.

Selection at Scarborough Library may include:

  • Booklist.
  • Choice magazine
  • Books in Print.
  • Choice Reviews Online.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education.
  • Library Journal.
  • Professional journals in academic subject areas.
  • Reviews indexed in professional journals in online databases.

Liaison for School of Arts and Humanities

Ann Henriksson
phone: 304-876-5412
email:
awhenrik@shepherd.edu
office: Room 249

Liaison for School of Business and Social Sciences

Laura Neal
phone: 304-876-5379
email:
lneal@shepherd.edu
office: Room 250

Liaison for School of Education and Professional Studies

Rhonda Donaldson
phone: 304-876-5424
email:
rdonal01@shepherd.edu
office: Room 252

Liaison for School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Yanhong Wang
phone: 304-876-5302
email:
ywang@shepherd.edu
office: Room 253