Subjects: Engineering, Math
Tags: engineering, math

Software

MatLab (installed in CME labs)

a high-level language and interactive environment that enables you to perform computationally intensive tasks faster than with traditional programming languages such as C, C++, and Fortran. You can find some training materials here: http://www.mathworks.com/support/learn-with-matlab-tutorials.html.
 

The R Project for Statistical Computing (installed on campus lab computers)

a language and environment for statistical computing and graphics
 

IBM SPSS Statistics (installed on campus lab computers)

IBM SPSS Statistics is an integrated family of products that addresses the entire analytical process, from planning to data collection to analysis, reporting and deployment. It offers rich statistical capabilities paired with features that make it easier to access and manage data, select and perform analyses and share results.

Help

The Academic Support Center

Provides math tutoring for students at no cost. To schedule for a math tutoring session, go to their website or call 304-876-5221 for help of how to sign up.

Other online help videos:

The Khan Academy is a not-for-profit organization. All of the site's resources (include over 3,900 videos) are available to anyone. Students can make use of the extensive video library, interactive challenges, and assessments from any computer with access to the web. iPhone/iPad app is also available through the app store.

Free Math Videos Online

This site is dedicated to providing high quality, instructional, free math videos to students who need math help. It also has videos about how to use TI calculators. If you don't mind the ads, they are all free!

Web Resources

Wolfram MathWorld

MathWorldTM is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities. 

Wolfram|Alpha

NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions

The Digital Library of Mathematical Functions (DLMF) Project was initiated to perform a complete revision of Abramowitz and Stegun’s Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables, published in 1964 by the National Bureau of Standards. The DLMF Project has updated and expanded the coverage for current needs. The results have been published in book form as the NIST Handbook of Mathematical Functions, by Cambridge University Press, and disseminated in the free electronic Digital Library of Mathematical Functions.

NIST ITL Applied and Computational Mathematics Division

It provides leadership within NIST in the application of applied and computational mathematics to the solution to science and engineering problems arising in measurement science and related applications. This is accomplished via a program of R&D in mathematical and computational techniques and tools, collaboration with NIST and external scientists, and the dissemination of reference data and software.

MIT OCW

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.

Project Euclid

Project Euclid's mission is to advance scholarly communication in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics. Project Euclid is designed to address the unique needs of low-cost independent and society journals. Through a collaborative partnership arrangement, these publishers join forces and participate in an online presence with advanced functionality, without sacrificing their intellectual or economic independence or commitment to low subscription prices. Full-text searching, reference linking, interoperability through the Open Archives Initiative, and long-term retention of data are all important components of the project.

+plus Magazine

Plus is an internet magazine which aims to introduce readers to the beauty and the practical applications of mathematics. Plus provides articles and podcasts on any aspect of mathematics, covering topics as diverse as art, medicine, cosmology and sport, a news section, showing how recent news stories were often based on some underlying piece of maths that never made it to the newspapers, reviews of popular maths books, and puzzles for you to sharpen your wits.