Subjects: Environmental Studies
Tags: environmental studies

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar

To find library materials on Google Scholar, go to "Settings" and search for "Shepherd University" from the "Library Link" page. Check "Scarborough Library" box. The tag for our library is "Findit@shepherd". When you find this link from Google Scholar, clicking on it will take you to the library subscription materials.

Citation Guide

Please refer to the follow page for the citation guide:

http://libguides.shepherd.edu/citationguide

Off-Campus Access

For help on how to access electronic resources off campus, please see this page: http://libguides.shepherd.edu/c.php?g=62880&p=3561730​ 

Journals

Search the journals our library subscribes to.

Search: Library Publications

Databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Full text PDF coverage, in some cases, goes back to 1887.

AGRICOLA

National Agriculture Library catalog search and articles citation index. Prepared by the National Agricultural Library indexes publications related to agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Coverage: 16th century to now (focus on 1970-current).

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

JSTOR

JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

WorldCAT

Provides access to more than 45 million bibliographic records (books, manuscripts, musical scores, videotapes, etc.) representing 400 languages. Covers information back to the 11th Century that has been cataloged by more than 6,000 OCLC member libraries.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature on the internet. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research. Searching is free; however acquiring results may or may not be. Google Scholar is not and does not market itself as a database; it is an internet resource only

Foreign Agriculture Service

Provides market and trade data, exporter assistance, and programs to aid in export of US agriculture products in global economy. The site is searchable by FAQ, topic, and audience and contains links to a newsletter, upcoming events, news, and an online coloring and activity book.

Sanborn Maps

No maps are consulted more in academic and public libraries than Sanborn fire insurance maps--the detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities across a century of change. Now they're as close as your keyboard with the Digital Sanborn Maps collection, available online from ProQuest Information and Learning.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The SEP project began in September 1995; originally conceptualized as a (static) online dictionary of philosophy developed into that of a dynamic reference work, an online encyclopedia that would satisfy the highest academic standards. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field, updated on a quarterly basis; entries are in alphabetical order and can be searched in basic or advanced mode.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

The Directory of Open Access Journals service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that are peer-reviewed and completely full-text

Hathi Trust Digital Library

The Hathi Trust organization has created a digital library for many public domain (and some copyrighted) materials. The Trust's collection can be searched by catalog (author, title, subject, series title, ISBN), by collections, and by full text within a work; those items that have been digitized and placed on the site in PDF files will have a "Full View" check box underneath their search results. PDFs can be viewed freely and single pages of them may also be downloaded freely; downloading the entire work requires logging in as part of a partner institution.