Subjects: General Guides

Introduction

This guide will provide an overview of the EBSCOHost databases provided at Scarborough Library for use by its patrons.  It is split into several sections, indicated by tabs.

  • Basic Searching: performing a basic search
  • Useful Limiters: how to refine a search
  • Database by Subject Area: databases for specific research areas (drop-down menu available)
  • Off-Campus Access

 

What is EBSCOHost?

EBSCOHost is a warehouse or repository of digital content; the individual databases (ex. Academic Search Complete, Business Source Elite) are collections of information separated into "rooms."

The "rooms" hold copies of journals and other materials that meet the requirements for being in a particular collection; a journal (or other source) can be found in multiple databases.

 

A Few Definitions

Here are a few important terms used within EBSCOHost:

Peer-Reviewed: An article reviewed by the professional peers of the author, using specific criteria for submission that can vary between professions, that is meant for the instruction and interest of the members of that profession, trade, or subject discipline.

Limiter: These options (which can be picked before or after a search is performed) are all the ways to refine a search. Limiters can include (but are not limited to) full-text options, peer-reviewed work, language, type of publication, date of publication, and other variables; not all limiters exist in all databases.

Source: The name of a particular publication (ex. New York Times); these can be searched individually. 

Embargo: A span of time, set by the publisher of the original content, that can be as little as three days or as long as a year, that prevents the upload of the full-text of a journal issue, newspaper article or other document in EBSCOHost databases.

Assistance Available

Sometimes, not even an online guide is able to explain effectively how to use a resource.

Reference librarians are available to answer questions and to demonstrate how to access resources.

Hours of availability