Skip to main content

Corona Virus (COVID-19): Free Resources

Updates for Library use during the Corona Pandemic

Keep Checking for more

Publishers have been very generous during the health crisis by removing the pay-wall to certain online journals. 

NOTE:  Pay attention to the expiration dates.

Resources

To support academic libraries and their many patrons, we are providing temporary free access to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th and 7th editions), the Concise Guide to APA Style, and more than 160 other books published by APA Books through VitalSource and RedShelf.

These will be available for free to instructors and students at participating nonprofit academic institutions affected by campus closures until May 25, 2020:

In addition, we have many APA Style resources that will remain freely available:

Cambridge University Press access ends May 31, 2020

The collection includes:

  • Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
  • Cambridge Histories is the essential reference collection spanning 350 volumes in 10 subject areas.
  • Cambridge Elements are a new concept in academic publishing and scholarly communication, combining the best features of books and journals. They consist of original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research, organised into focused series edited by leading scholars, and provide comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences.
  • Cambridge textbooks are developed with authors working on the latest research and technological developments, to enable our titles to deliver stimulating and forward-thinking material for new curriculum topics.

Cengage: For U.S. higher education institutions experiencing unplanned, mid-semester impacts due to COVID-19, Cengage is offering students free access to all our digital platforms and 14,000 ebooks through Cengage Unlimited, for the remainder of this semester.

MacMillan: We are pleased to announce we have partnered with VitalSource and RedShelf to provide free access to our academic (not trade) e-Books on both platforms through the remainder of the spring 2020 semester.

 

EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 255,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020.

Faculty can use this link to access now.

How will it work?

  1. Share this page with faculty. Faculty can then click the link above to access the simplified version of Faculty Select.
  2. Faculty can then search more than 12,400 Open Educational Resources, and copy/paste links to relevant materials into their Learning Management System (LMS) or send links to the material directly to students to access.
  3. Faculty can also search and discover more than 225,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks; if they discover an e-book of interest,  contact your Liaison librarian to discuss potentially purchasing.

 

Flipster     Access leading digital magazines with Flipster, the digital magazine newsstand from EBSCO

Access until June 20, 2020

This includes the complete catalog of e-books published by Harvard Business School Publishing with more than 600 e-books, including 400+ monographs, seminal works and 150+ article compilations.  Access until May 31, 2020

  • JoVE is granting free access to its Science Education video library for free through June 15, 2020. Our access is set up and ready for you to use in instruction and research. Here is the link for access: Science Education 

For off campus access, you and your students will need to create a free JoVE account using your Shepherd email address.

You can share video content with your students by copy and pasting JoVE inks into your communications, syllabi, and assignments. If you encounter any problems using JoVE, please contact me or any of the other librarians for assistance.

The content nested under the large green “Science Education” button is the content that is available for free. It includes biology, physics, engineering, chemistry, clinical and laboratory skills, environmental sciences, and psychology.

You can search for these titles and more from JSTOR. Expanded access will be available through June 30, 2020.  

26 archive journals in Public Health

  • Annals of Nutrition & Metabolism                                                                     Inside EPA’s Risk Policy Report
  • Asia Pacific Journal of Public Health                                                               Inside EPA’s Water Policy Report
  • European Addiction Research                                                                          InsideHealthPolicy.com’s FDA Week
  • Food and Drug Law Journal                                                                              International Journal of Health Services
  • Generations: Journal of the American Society on Aging                            Journal of Best Practices in Health Professions Diversity
  • Gesundheits- und Sozialpolitik                                                                       Journal of Health Services Research & Policy
  • Harvard Public Health Review                                                                        Journal of Health Services Research & Policy
  • Health                                                                                                                  Pedagogy in Health Promotion
  • Health Education & Behavior                                                                         Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics
  • Health Promotion Practice                                                                              Public Health Genomics
  • Human Development                                                                                      Scandinavian Journal of Public Health
  • Human Heredity                                                                                               Scandinavian Journal of Public Health. Supplement
  • Inside CMS                                                                                                        Trauma, Violence & Abuse
  • Inside EPA’s Clean Air Report

Archive Journal Collections

  • Arts & Sciences I-XV
  • Business IV
  • Ecology & Botany II
  • Hebrew Journals
  • Ireland
  • Jewish Studies
  • Life Sciences

Thematic Collections                                       Primary Source Collections

  • Lives of Literature                                                                                   19th Century British Pamphlets
  • Security Studies                                                                                      World Heritage Sites: Africa
  • Sustainability                                                                                           Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Global Plants

Title lists will download

 

 

Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris have recently made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public on their collections website. Artists with works in the archive include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.

Collaborating with hundreds of publishers and colleges, RedShelf is helping to make education both more affordable and more effective by distributing dynamic digital course materials and offering an end-to-end Content Delivery System to help our partners efficiently deliver those materials.

  • RedShelf ETextbooks  access will run through May 25th, 2020. Offer does not include courseware.)

The Royal Society has removed their scientific journal paywall for the time being. Access is available  at https://royalsociety.org/journals/#listing. Access until May 2020

The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics -  SIAM Epidemiology Collection has been made freely available in response to the outbreak of the SARS-CoV-2 virus and the associated disease COVID-19. 
We hope this content on epidemiology, disease modeling, pandemics and vaccines will help in the rapid fight against this global problem.

SIAM Epidemiology Collection - Access until May 31, 2020

 

TumbleBooks’ databases are easy to use, and feature unlimited access from home! Your kids can read as many books as they want, when they want, and on any device. There are no check-outs, holds, or bulky downloads. Books are available instantly.  Access until Aug 31, 2020

 

TumbleBookLibrary - K-6 children's ebook database
Direct Link: https://www.tumblebooklibrary.com/auto_login.aspx?U=tumble735&P=books
Username: tumble735
Password: books

TumbleMath - K-6 math ebook database
Direct Link: https://www.tumblemath.com/autologin.aspx?U=tumble2020&P=A3b5c6
Username: tumble2020
Password: A3b5c6

TeenBookCloud - gr 7-12 ebook database
Direct Link: https://www.teenbookcloud.com/autologin.aspx?U=tumble2020&P=A3b5c6
Username: tumble2020
Password: A3b5c6

AudioBookCloud - This site is an audio book database for kids to adults, however the direct link below provides direct access to the children's section.
Direct Link: http://www.audiobookcloud.com/autologin.aspx?U=tumble2020&P=A3b5c6&categoryID=33
Username: tumble2020
Password: A3b5c6

VitalSource Helps supports students at semester-calendar schools who may have lost access to course materials due to their campus moving online to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Students and instructors at impacted 2 and 4-year non-profit institutions in the U.S. and Canada can now access an expansive catalog of etexts, through May 25, 2020

VitalSource Help program information:

https://support.vitalsource.com/hc/en-us/articles/360044467674/#how-to-access